Darleys Hollywood 2014

The first time Darleys were held at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood.
The 3rd Darley Event under direction of The HH Sheikh Mansoor Bin Zayed Al Nahyan Global Arabian Horse Flat Racing Festival.

April 4, 2014 - Dolby Theatre - Hollywood California - In California at the famous Dolby Theatre the home of the Oscars, the best Arabian horses and people of the industry were awarded with titles as the 2013 Champions of Arabian Racing in the United States.

Often referred to as the "Oscars" of Arabian racing, sharing the spotlight on the Dolby Theater stage that evening are the HH Sheikha Fatima Bint Mubarak Darley Awards for Ladies. These elite international Awards are presented in the name of Her Highness to outstanding women in Arabian racing globally in 2013. Ms Lara Sawaya, Executive Director of the HH Sheikh Mansoor Bin Zayed Al Nahyan Global Arabian Flat Racing Festival, announces the Ladies finalists in the eleven categories and awards are determined by an international panel of distinguished judges from 8 countries, including the UAE, United Kingdom, Bahrain, Egypt, Qatar, Lebanon, Netherlands, and United States.

Chartered in 1983, the Arabian Racing Cup is a nonprofit corporation founded by Dr. Sam Harrison and directed by its Board of Stewards. The Cup is dedicated to the international promotion of Arabian Racing, and in 2012, joined together with the HH Sheikh Mansoor Bin Zayed Al Nahyan Global Arabian Flat Racing Festival to promote this prestigious Darley Awards event.

HH Sheikha Fatima Bint Mubarak International Darley Award Winners of 2013

(In 2013, the following categories were added and awarded: Best Filly 3 yrs old, Best Filly 4 yrs old, Best Lady Journalist, Best Lady Photographer, and Best Racing TV Presenter.)

Name/Country Award
Pamela Burton, USA Best Photographer
Renée Laure Koch, France
Best Breeder
Manuela Daverio Scharfenberg, Germany Best Owner
Karin Van den Bos, The Netherlands Best Trainer
Rachel King, UK Best Jockey
LORRA, France Best 3-Year-Old Filly
FARH, France Best 4-Year-Old Filly
Shayel Aldhabi (AE), UAE Best Mare
Amanda Roxborough, USA Best TV Presenter
Noelle Derre, France Best Journalist
Nelly Philippot Hermanne, Belguim Best Lifetime Achievement


Founded in 1983 by Dr. Sam Harrison, the Arabian Racing Cup (ARC)'s Darley Awards ceremony has become the showcase of U.S. Arabian racing. In 2012, the HH Sheikh Mansoor Bin Zayed Al Nahyan Global Arabian Flat Racing Festival and ARC joined together to promote this prestigious event. Supported by an extensive list of sponsors, the Darley Awards is under the direction of Lara Sawaya, Executive Director of the Festival, and organized by Arabian Racing Cup, the Abu Dhabi Tourism & Culture Authority, coordinated by Abu Dhabi Sports Council, in association with International Federation of Arabian Horse Racing Authorities, Emirates RacingAuthority, Emirates Arabian Horse Society, and supported by General Authority of Youth & Sports Welfare. Emirates Airlines is the official carrier.